Knowing China through Taiwan

  • Friday, August 28, 2015
  • RSS
  • Who's Who

Tsai Ing-wen (蔡英文)

Tsai Ing-wen (蔡英文)

Tsai Ing-wen has been the chairwoman of the opposition Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) since 2008. She was one of the key people behind the "special state-to-state relations" proposed by Taiwan's former president Lee Teng-hui in 1999. Even though Tsai was not a senior DPP member she was promoted to lead the party after its heavy loss in the 2008 presidential election.

Born: August 31st, 1956

Birthplace: Taipei

Country of Citizenship: Taiwan

Profession: Politician

Education: PhD, London School of Economics and Political Science


2008-present Chairwoman, Democratic Progressive Party

2006-2007 Vice Premier, Republic of China

2006-2008 Chairwoman, Fair Trade Commission

2004-2006 National Policy Advisor to the President

2004-2006 Legislator, Legislative Yuan

2000-2004 Chairwoman, Mainland Affairs Council

2000-2004 Minister without Portfolio, Republic of China

1999-2000 Senior Advisor, National Security Council

1995-1998 Member, Fair Trade Commission Advisor Committee

1993-present Professor, Graduate Institution of International Trade, National Chengchi University

1993-2000 Commissioner, International Trade Commission

1992-2000 Chief Legal Advisor on International Economic Organization, Ministry of Economic Affairs

Who's Who

  • Chu Yimin (褚益民)

    Chu Yimin (褚益民)

    Chu Yimin is the political director of the PLA's Shenyang Military Region.Born in Jiangsu in 1953, Chu joined the Communist Party and the PLA in 1973....