• Tuesday, October 06, 2015

New Politburo Standing Committee decided: Mingjing News

CNA 2012-10-18 09:26 (GMT+8)
Xi Jinping is China's leader-in-waiting. (File photo/Xinhua)

Xi Jinping is China's leader-in-waiting. (File photo/Xinhua)

The list of members of the Chinese Communist Party's Politburo Standing Committee, the country's top circle of power, has been set and cut to seven people from the current nine, a New York-based website reputed to have inside access said Tuesday.

Mingjing News reported that the current Politburo Standing Committee held a meeting in Beijing on Oct. 15 to discuss issues related to the party's 18th National Congress scheduled for Nov. 8, when a once-a-decade leadership transition will be set into motion.

The most important topic at the meeting was to decide the list of members of the Politburo and its standing committee, the report said.

The report cited unnamed sources as saying that there will be seven members in the next Politburo Standing Committee and 25 in the full Politburo.

The seven members will reportedly be Vice President Xi Jinping, vice premiers Li Keqiang, Zhang Dejiang and Wang Qishan, and Politburo members Liu Yunshan, Zhang Gaoli and Yu Zhengsheng.

Except for Xi Jinping and Li Keqiang who will serve as China's president and premier, the remaining five names have yet to be finalized, and their relative ranks could still be adjusted, the report said.

Incumbent Politburo members Li Yuanchao and Liu Yandong, who were widely expected to make it into China's supreme seat of power, have been left out, according to the website.

Liu will seek the post of vice premier, the report said.

Who`s who »
Jiang Yikang (姜異康)

Jiang Yikang is the party chief of Shandong province. A native of Zhaoyuan in Shandong, he was born in 1953, entered the workforce in 1969, and joined the CPC in 1970. Jiang graduated from ...